President to present Gandhi Peace Prize Tuesday

New Delhi, President Pranab Mukherjee will honour noted environmentalist and pioneer of the Chipko movement Chandi Prasad Bhatt with 2013 Gandhi Peace Prize July 15, a statement said Monday.

Bhatt has also been awarded with the Ramon Magsaysay Award for community leadership in 1982 followed by the Padma Bhushan - the third highest civilian award of India in 2005.

The Gandhi Peace Prize was instituted in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi.

"This annual award is given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods," said a statement.

Previous recipients of the award include former president of Tanzania Julius K. Nyerere, social worker Baba Amte, South Africa's former president Nelson Mandela, among others.

The award carries a plaque, citation and an amount of crore.

Write your comment now