International > Indonesia

Tana Toraja, Indonesia

Tana Toraja Regency is a regency of South Sulawesi Province of Indonesia, and home to the Toraja ethnic group. The local government seat is in Makale, while the center of Toraja culture is in Rantepao.
But now, Tana Toraja has been divided to two regencies that consist of Tana Toraja with its capital at Makale and Toraja Utara with its capital at Rantepao.

The Tana Toraja boundary was determined by the Dutch East Indies government in 1909. In 1926, Tana Toraja was under the administration of Bugis state, Luwu.

The total area (since the separation of the new regency of North Toraja) is 2,054.30 km, about 4.4% of the total area of South Sulawesi province. The topography of Tana Toraja is mountainous its minimum elevation is 150 m, while the maximum is 3,083 above the sea level.
Tana Toraja has been named as the second tourist destination after Bali by the Ministry of Tourism, Indonesia. Since then, hundreds of thousands of foreign visitors have visited this regency.
Write your comment now